You are here:

News & Events


2018 Department Awards

Job Postings

Research Highlights

Learn about the research occurring in our department.

Undergraduate Research Highlight

Learn about the students who participate in the undergraduate research program 

News Archive

2017    2015    2014    2013


2016-2020     2011-2015

2006-2010     2001-2005


Jan Miller receives International Cooperation and Lifetime Achievement Awards

Xi Jiangpin and J D Miller

[January 2019]  Prof. Jan D. Miller, Ivor D. Thomas Distinguished Professor, was awarded the 2018 International Science and Technology Cooperation Award of the People‚Äôs Republic of China; It was presented in the Great Hall at Tianemen Square by Xi Jiangping, President of the PRC.

In October Dr. Miller received the  2018 International Mineral Processing Congress Lifetime Achievement Award.  Dr. Miller has devoted over forty years to undergraduate and graduate education at the University of Utah.  His research covers mainly the areas of mineral processing and hydrometallurgy, specializing in particle characterization, aqueous solution chemistry, and colloid and surface chemistry.  He is a member of SME, TMS, and ACS. The recipient of numerous honors and awards, he was elected to the National Acvademy of Engineering in 1993.  In recent years has has become a world leader in the field of x-ray tomography in minerals processing.

Prof. Ravi Chandran

Grant to Study Phase Transitions in Li-Ion Battery Electrodes

[September 2018]  Professor Ravi Chandran, Metallurgical Engineering, has recently been awarded a $440K grant, for three years, from the Department of Energy, Office of Science for the study of phase transitions in Li-ion battery electrodes. This follows a previous grant on the same subject and provides opportunities for two graduate students to continue the in situ experiments in Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee.

Weiping Liu receives the Benvegno Memorial Award in San Antonio.

George Benvegno Memorial Award

[June 2018] Weiping Liu, a PhD candidate in Dr. Miller's group, received the George Benvegno Memorial Award at the IPMI 42nd Annual Conference in San Antonio, Texas. This scholarship recognizes research in the field of precious metals.



Last Updated: 1/16/19